People

Who we are

The aim of IKITIK is to support producing and using health information and communication by developing innovative, intelligent, state-of-the-art clinical information and language technology solutions. They are based on end-user needs and will be carefully tested using both statistical techniques and genuine end-user feedback. To assure their quality, international applicability, practical relevance and interoperability with existing electronic patient information systems, solutions are developed in interdisciplinary and international collaboration of care providers, clinical documentation and decision-making experts, as well as information and communication technology developers and providers. Outcomes contribute to clarity, understandability and accessibility of patient narratives. This has positive impacts on patient safety, care quality, and efficiency and profitability of health care services. Further, improved patient narratives emphasize customer orientation and individualized care.

Contacts

Project coordinator Ilona Tuominen is the person to be contacted for any inquiries regarding the IKITIK consortium.
Email: ilona.tuominen@utu.fi
GSM: +358 50 5979221

Coordinator

Hans Moen
PhD in Computer Science
Department of Computer and Information ScienceNatural language processing, Clinical language processing, Machine learning, Text summarization

Members

Research and innovation

Sanna Salanterä
Professor, University of Turku,
Department of Nursing Science,
Head nurse, Hospital District of Southwest Finland
Clinical nursing science, Health care technology
sansala@utu.fi​
Tapio Salakoski
Professor, University of Turku,
Department of Information Technology and TUCS
Computational linguistics, Machine learning, Data science
tapio.salakoski@utu.fi
Johan Lilius
Professor, Åbo Akademi University,
Department of Information technologies and TUCS
Embedded systems, Smart spaces, context-aware systems
johan.lilius@abo.fi
​Heikki Korvenranta
Docent, University of Turku
Hospital construction, Medical advisor
heikki.korvenranta@pp.inet.fi​
Heljä Lundgren-Laine
Head nurse, Hospital District of Southwest Finland
Knowledge transfer, Health technology
helja.lundgren-laine@tyks.fi
Kristiina Junttila
Doctor of Health Sciences
Knowledge management, Perioperative nursing
ankrju@utu.fi

Development and innovation

Juha Kontio
Dean, Director of Education,
Turku University of Applied Sciences,
Faculty of Business, ICT and Life Sciences
Data management, Information systems and Business
juha.kontio@turkuamk.fi
Elina Kontio
Doctor of Health Sciences
Health Informatics and eHealth
elina.kontio@turkuamk.fi
Tuomo Helo
Turku University of Applied Sciences
tuomo.helo@turkuamk.fi
Tuukka Ojanen
Turku University of Applied Sciences
tuukka.ojanen@turkuamk.fi
Teppo Saaarenpää
Turku University of Applied Sciences
teppo.saarenpää@turkuamk.fi

Junior researchers Department of Nursing Science, University of Turku

Riitta Danielsson-Ojala
Master of Health Sciences
Nursing documentation, Speech regocnition, Usability testing
rkdaoj@utu.fi

​Laura-Maria Peltonen
Master of Health Sciences
Knowledge management in care coordination, Intensive care nursing and Health language processing
laura-maria.peltonen@utu.fi

​Leena Uronen
Master of Health Sciences
leena.uronen@mehilainen.fi

Kristiina Heikkilä
Master of Health Sciences
kemheik@utu.fi

Satu Poikajärvi
Master of Health Sciences
satu.poikajarvi@hus.fi

Eriikka Siirala
Master of Health Sciences
eriikka.siirala@tyks.fi

​Kirsi Terho
Master of Health Sciences
kmterh@utu.fi

Henry Suhonen
Master of Health Sciences
hajsuh@utu.fi

Junior researchers Department of Future Techonologies, University of Turku

Juho Heimonen
Master of Science
Text mining, Ontologies, and Machine learning
juaheim@utu.fi

Kai Hakala
MSc
kahaka@utu.fi

Joni-Matti Huotari
Department of Future Technologies
University of Turku
jmfhuo@utu.fi

Farrokh Mehryary
Department of Future Technologies
University of Turku
farmeh@utu.fi

​Antti Vikström
MSc
Department of Future Technologies
University of Turku
anelvi@utu.fi

School of languages and translational studies, University of Turku

​Veronika Laippala
PhD
Language analysis, Computational linguistics, Clinical language variants, Corpus linguistics
mavela@utu.fi

Collaborators

​Filip Ginter
Department of Future Technologies
PhD
University of Turku

​Antti Airola
PhD (Technology)
Machine learning and Text mining
ajairo@utu.fi

Tapio Pahikkala
Department of Future Technologies
PhD
University of Turku
aatapa@utu.fi

​Hanna Suominen
Senior Researcher in Machine Learning at National Information and Communications Technology Australia (NICTA)
Adjunct Professor in Computer Science in the University of Turku (UTU)
Adjunct Research Fellow in Computer Science in the Australian National University (ANU)
Professional Associate in Health in the University of Canberra (UC)
Health and wellness applications, Machine learning, Mathematical modeling, Natural language processing, Performance evaluation, Signal processing
hanna.suominen@nicta.com.au

Companies

Juhani Reiman
CEO, Lingsoft Oy
juhani.reiman@lingsoft.fi

​Petteri Viljanen
Managing Director, BCB Medical Oy
petteri.viljanen@bcbmedical.com

​Kirsi Aantaa
Master of Arts
Language analysis, Reading comprehension
kirsi.aantaa@gmail.com

Past members

​Jari Björne
jakrbj@utu.fi

Lotta Hamari
PT, Master of Health Sciences
Children’s physical activity and Health promotion, Health games and eHealth
anloka@utu.fi

​Anni Pakarinen
Bachelor of Health Sciences
Health promotion, Children’s and adolescents’ health and Health games
ankorh@utu.fi

Heidi Parisod
Master of Health Sciences
Health promotion, Health games and eHealth
hemapar@utu.fi

Tomi Westerlund
Senior Researcher, PhD (Technology)
Internet of Things, System Modelling and Verification
tovewe@utu.fi

​Camilla Wide
Professor, University of Turku, School of Languages and Translation Studies
camilla.wide@utu.fi

​Ilona Tuominen
PhD, MBA
Project management and administration,
Molecular biology
ilona.tuominen@utu.fi
+358 50 597 9221

​Janne Lahtiranta
University of Turku, Information Systems Science
Personal Health Record, Personal Health Information Management, Health Care Information Systems, Concept Development, Informatics, Business Strategy, Start-ups
janne.lahtiranta@it.utu.fi

​Mika Willberg
Managing Director, Acentra Oy
Business intelligence, Data management, System integration
mika.willberg@acentra.fi

​Natalia Díaz-Rodríguez
MSc. Computer Engineering
Smart Spaces, Ambient Intelligence, Semantic Technologies
ndiaz@abo.fi

Ranjita Pradhan​
Masters student in Information Technology
Network Security
ranjita.pradhan@utu.fi