Partner universities

The PEBES partnership involves three universities. The University of Turku and Humak University of Applied Sciences are located in Finland.  Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources is the African Partner. Also University of Namibia took part in the PEBES project during 09/2022 – 09/2023.



University of Turku

The university, founded in 1920, is situated in the heart of Turku in southwestern Finland. It has eight faculties. PEBES collaboration is mostly carried out by the Biodiversity Unit which is deeply involved with biodiversity, ecological and sustainability issues. The Unit employs both education and research staff and has a research station in northern Lapland as well as in the Turku archipelago.

Kuvaaja: Hanna Oksanen
Turku and Turku Cathedral on an autumnal morning.
Kevo research station at 69°45’N, 27°01’E, ca. 400 km north of the Arctic Circle.
The central plaza of the University Hill.

Humak University of Applied Sciences

Humak is a national university of applied sciences that operates almost everywhere in Finland, offering extensive online training. Our campuses are located in the Helsinki Metropolitan Area, Jyväskylä, Kuopio and Turku. Humak’s main fields of study are Community Education (Adventure and Outdoor Education, Youth Work, NGO Work and Workplace Development), Arts and Cultural Management, and Interpreting and Linguistic Accessibility. PEBES collaboration is carried out by the Community Education / Aventure and Outdoor Education team members.

Humak adventure and outdoor-education students.
Humak Turku campus in the winter.

University of Namibia

Botswana University of Agriculture and Natural Resources