People

Contacts

Members

Hans Moen
Computer science coordinator
Academy of Finland Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Computing, University of Turku
Natural language processing, Clinical language processing, Machine learning, Text summarization
hans.moen@utu.fi
+358 449 683 372
Laura-Maria Peltonen
Health science coordinator
Doctor of Health Sciences
Department of Nursing Science, University of Turku
Hospital operative management, Health language processing, Critical care nursing
lmemur@utu.fi
+358 29 450 2010
Sanna Salanterä
Professor in Nursing Science
Department of Nursing Science
Vice Dean, Faculty of Medicine, University of Turku
Head nurse, Hospital District of Southwest Finland
Clinical nursing science, Health care technology
sansala@utu.fi​
Tapio Salakoski
Professor in Language Technology and Machine Learning
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering, University of Turku
Computational linguistics, Machine learning, Data science
tapio.salakoski@utu.fi
Johan Lilius
Professor, Åbo Akademi University,
Department of Information technologies and TUCS
Embedded systems, Smart spaces, context-aware systems
johan.lilius@abo.fi
Heikki Korvenranta
Docent, University of Turku
Hospital construction, Medical advisor
heikki.korvenranta@pp.inet.fi​
Heljä Lundgren-Laine
Head nurse, Hospital District of Southwest Finland
Knowledge transfer, Health technology
helja.lundgren-laine@tyks.fi
Kristiina Junttila
Doctor of Health Sciences
Knowledge management, Perioperative nursing
ankrju@utu.fi

Junior researchers Department of Nursing Science, University of Turku

Riitta Danielsson-Ojala
Master of Health Sciences
Nursing documentation, Speech regocnition, Usability testing
rkdaoj@utu.fi

​Leena Uronen
Master of Health Sciences
leena.uronen@mehilainen.fi

Kristiina Heikkilä
Master of Health Sciences
kemheik@utu.fi

Satu Poikajärvi
Master of Health Sciences
satu.poikajarvi@hus.fi

Eriikka Siirala
PhD
eriikka.siirala@tyks.fi

​Kirsi Terho
Master of Health Sciences
kmterh@utu.fi

Henry Suhonen
Master of Health Sciences
hajsuh@utu.fi

Junior researchers Department of Computing, University of Turku

Juho Heimonen
PhD
Text mining, Ontologies, and Machine learning
juaheim@utu.fi

Kai Hakala
Master of Science
kahaka@utu.fi

Farrokh Mehryary
Master of Science
farmeh@utu.fi

​Antti Vikström
Master of Science
anelvi@utu.fi

Junior researchers Department of Biology, University of Turku

Akseli Reunamo
Master of Science
akseli.y.reunamo@utu.fi

School of languages and translational studies, University of Turku

​Veronika Laippala
PhD
Language analysis, Computational linguistics, Corpus linguistics
mavela@utu.fi

Collaborators

​Filip Ginter
Department of Future Technologies
PhD
University of Turku

​Antti Airola
PhD (Technology)
Machine learning and Text mining
ajairo@utu.fi

Tapio Pahikkala
Department of Future Technologies
PhD
University of Turku
aatapa@utu.fi

Elina Kontio
Doctor of Health Sciences
Health Informatics and eHealth
elina.kontio@turkuamk.fi

Juha Kontio
Dean, Director of Education,
Turku University of Applied Sciences,
Faculty of Business, ICT and Life Sciences
Data management, Information systems and Business
juha.kontio@turkuamk.fi

Teppo Saarenpää
Turku University of Applied Sciences
teppo.saarenpää@turkuamk.fi

​Hanna Suominen
Senior Researcher in Machine Learning at National Information and Communications Technology Australia (NICTA)
Adjunct Professor in Computer Science in the University of Turku (UTU)
Adjunct Research Fellow in Computer Science in the Australian National University (ANU)
Professional Associate in Health in the University of Canberra (UC)
Health and wellness applications, Machine learning, Mathematical modeling, Natural language processing, Performance evaluation, Signal processing
hanna.suominen@nicta.com.au

Companies

Juhani Reiman
CEO, Lingsoft Oy
juhani.reiman@lingsoft.fi

​Petteri Viljanen
Managing Director, BCB Medical Oy
petteri.viljanen@bcbmedical.com

​Kirsi Aantaa
Master of Arts
Language analysis, Reading comprehension
kirsi.aantaa@gmail.com

Other members

​Jari Björne
jakrbj@utu.fi

Lotta Hamari
PT, Master of Health Sciences
Children’s physical activity and Health promotion, Health games and eHealth
anloka@utu.fi

​Anni Pakarinen
Bachelor of Health Sciences
Health promotion, Children’s and adolescents’ health and Health games
ankorh@utu.fi

Heidi Parisod
Master of Health Sciences
Health promotion, Health games and eHealth
hemapar@utu.fi

Tomi Westerlund
Senior Researcher, PhD (Technology)
Internet of Things, System Modelling and Verification
tovewe@utu.fi

​Camilla Wide
Professor, University of Turku, School of Languages and Translation Studies
camilla.wide@utu.fi

​Ilona Tuominen
PhD, MBA
Project management and administration,
Molecular biology
ilona.tuominen@utu.fi
+358 50 597 9221

​Janne Lahtiranta
University of Turku, Information Systems Science
Personal Health Record, Personal Health Information Management, Health Care Information Systems, Concept Development, Informatics, Business Strategy, Start-ups
janne.lahtiranta@it.utu.fi

​Mika Willberg
Managing Director, Acentra Oy
Business intelligence, Data management, System integration
mika.willberg@acentra.fi

​Natalia Díaz-Rodríguez
MSc. Computer Engineering
Smart Spaces, Ambient Intelligence, Semantic Technologies
ndiaz@abo.fi

Ranjita Pradhan​
Masters student in Information Technology
Network Security
ranjita.pradhan@utu.fi

Tuomo Helo
Turku University of Applied Sciences
tuomo.helo@turkuamk.fi

Tuukka Ojanen
Turku University of Applied Sciences
tuukka.ojanen@turkuamk.fi