Contacts

School building and general information

 

School building (grades 1-6)                          
Turku International School
Kraatarinkatu 4
20610 Turku
Finland

School building (grades 7-9 and IB)
Turun Normaalikoulu
Annikanpolku 9
20610 Turku
Finland

Bus connections (Föli): Bus stop 884 Koukkarinkatu, lines 12, 32, 42, 99. Then walk till the end of Krööpilankatu. Or stay on the bus until the Varissuo terminal stop.

Train connections: The nearest railway station to Norssi is Kupittaa Station if you are coming from Helsinki direction and it is about 4 kilometres from Varissuo where our school is located in the middle of the suburb. Buses 32 and 42 stop in the street next to the station. Get on the bus on the same side where the station main entrance is. The Turku main railway station is about 7 km from our school and about 1,3 km from the market place.

Principals

Mirjam Rasmus Head of School +358 46 922 4778mirjam.rasmus@utu.fi
Tuija Niemi Deputy Head (primary school)+358 50 367 0336tuija.niemi@utu.fi
Tarja Ruohonen Deputy Head (lower-secondary school)+358 40 715 8650tarja.ruohonen@utu.fi

Class Teachers - grades 1-6

Tuire Suvitie Grade 1Atuire.suvitie@utu.fi+358 29 450 3276
Lotta Salmi Grade 1B lmsalm@utu.fi+358 50 515 0435
Kati Koota Grade 2
kati.koota@utu.fi+358 50 514 6747
Tiina Mattila Grade 3tipama@utu.fi+358 46 921 4992
Gregory Ward Grade 4gregory.ward@utu.fi
Anu Bilbao Grade 5anu.bilbao@utu.fi+358 50 322 4185
Ulla-Riikka Ylitalo Grade 6ulla-riikka.ylitalo@utu.fi+358 50 570 1433
Lisa Paavilainen Special Education Teacherlisa.paavilainen@utu.fi+358 50 431 4573

Homeroom Teachers - grades 7-9

Elias Heikkonen Grade 7+358 44 326 0801oeheik@utu.fi
Merituuli Kallio Grade 8A+358 40 500 0445merituuli.kallio@utu.fi
Minna Viiniemi grade 8B+358 40 840 7515mmviin@utu.fi
Heidi Viljamaa Grade 9A+358 50 329 7574heidi.viljamaa@utu.fi
Mari Hanski Grade 9B+358 44 987 2686mari.hanski@utu.fi
Lisa Paavilainen Special Education Teacher+358 50 431 4573lisa.paavilainen@utu.fi

Teaching Assistants

Marta Mäki Teaching Assistant, grades 1-4marta.maki@utu.fi+358 29 450 4790
Jory Martindale Teaching Assistant, grades 5-9jory.martindale@utu.fi+358 44 971 9173

School Secretaries

Kati Eteläkoski-Heimo school secretary (leave of absence)kati.etelakoski@utu.fi+358 50 329 7342
Satu Rauhala-Zerkout school secretary (leave of absence)satu.rauhala-zerkout@utu.fi+358 50 349 6617
Jenny Kari school secretary (matters concerning pupils)jmkari@utu.fi+358 50 329 7342
Saija Teppala school secretary (matters concerning staff)saija.teppala@utu.fi+358 50 349 6617

Healthcare and student welfare

 

School Psychologist
Noora Leminen tel. +358 50 477 9196

School Welfare Officer 
Jatta Auremaa tel. +358 50 592 4685

School Nurse
Lena Savander tel. +358 44 907 3619

School Nurse (IB)
Vilma Alcenius tel. +358 40 149 8500

 

Student Counsellors and IB Coordinator

 

Student Counsellors

Merituuli Kallio (grades 7-9)
tel. + 358 40 500 0445
e-mail: merituuli.kallio@utu.fi

Jukka Valtanen (IB)
tel. + 358 50 566 0932
e-mail: jukka.valtanen@utu.fi

IB Coordinator (IB Diploma Programme)

Marianna Vanhatalo
tel. + 358 40 577 3395
e-mail: marianna.vanhatalo@utu.fi