May 2015 – March 2021


Consortium Partners

Department of Social Research, University of Turku
Consumer Society Research Centre, University of Helsinki
Department of Social Sciences, University of Eastern Finland
Department of Sociology, Stockholm University
Diaconia University of Applied Sciences
National Institute for Health and Welfare
Kela – Social Insurance Institution of Finland
Swedish Institute for Social Research, Stockholm University
Swedish School of Social Sciences, University of Helsinki


External partners and teams (non-funded)

Aalborg University
City of Helsinki, Urban Facts
City of Helsinki, Department of Early Education and Care
Finnish Centre for Pensions
National Institute for Consumer Research, Norway
Stockholm University, Department of Social Work
University of Antwerp, The Centre for Social Policy Herman Deleeck
University of Essex, Tax-benefit microsimulation model for the European Union (EUROMOD)
University of Iceland, EDDA Center of Excellence
University of Leuven, Department of Sociology
University of Southern Denmark, Centre for Welfare State Research
Uppsala University, Department of Government
Åbo Akademi, Department of Political Science


Advisory Board

Outi Antila (Director General of the Insurance Department, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)
Anna Järvinen (Senior Adviser, Finnish Federation for Social Affairs and Health SOSTE)
Mauri Kotamäki (Finnish Chambers of Commerce)
Susan Kuivalainen (Head of Research Department, Finnish Centre for Pensions)
Sinikka Näätsaari (Head of Department of Working Life and Social Affairs, The Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK)
Antti Parpo (Director of Change, Central Administration, The City of Turku)
Lauri Pelkonen (Director of Pharmaceuticals Pricing Board, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)
Eveliina Pöyhönen (Social Councillor at Department for Promotion of Welfare and Health, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health), who is substituting Kari Ilmonen (Director of Department for Promotion of Welfare and Health, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health)
Riitta Särkelä (Director of the Federation of Mother and Child Homes and Shelters)
Riitta Työläjärvi (Senior Adviser of Social and Health Policies, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK)
Krista Virtanen (Head of Adult Social Work Unit, The City of Pori)


Scientific Advisory Board

Kristina Alexanderson (Department of Clinical Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet)
Lynn Prince Cooke (Department of Social & Policy Sciences, University of Bath)
Johan Fritzell (Aging Research Centre, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm University)
Joakim Palme (Department of Government, Uppsala University)
Klaus Petersen (The Centre for Welfare State Research, University of Southern Denmark)
Wiemer Salverda (Amsterdam Centre for Inequality Studies, University of Amsterdam)
Tine Rostgaard (KORA, Danish Institute for Local and Regional Government Research)



The Strategic Research Council (SRC) at the Academy of Finland
4,5 million € (first half, May 2015 – December 2017)
2,1 million € (second half, January 2018 – March 2021)


Academy of Finland’s decision number for TITA researchers

In order to indicate your research’s affiliation to the TITA, please indicate following statement to the acknowledgement of your research paper:

This research was supported by the Strategic Research Council of the Academy of Finland (decision number: 293103)


Tutkimus on osa Suomen Akatemian strategisen tutkimuksen neuvoston rahoittamaa hanketta “Eriarvoisuus niukkuuden aikana” (päätösnumero: 293103)